#Unboxing: Claymate PH starter kit

Polymer clay isn’t exactly a “common” Arts and Crafts product that you can buy at any store here in the Philippines, which is why many Filipino crafters go online to purchase their art materials and supplies.  I recently got into the polymer craze and have been wanting to give sculpting a try, but like many crafters and artists in the country, I was posed with a problem: Where do I buy polymer clay?  After scouring malls, hobby shops, National Bookstore and other supply stores, I finally found a bunch of them at Deovir (SM North Branch).  They sell Sculpey-branded products like Premo, Sculpey III, etc.  For a while, that was my go-to place for all my art supplies.  Unfortunately, it takes a long time for them to re-stock on certain colors that I need, so I decided to find an alternative.

Searching the internet, I found a couple shops that sold polymer clay at a reasonable price.  One of them is Claymate Creations.  I looked over their website and saw that not only did they sell polymer clay, but also sculpting materials like fondant balls, cookie cutters, acrylic rolling pin, paint brushes, glaze, etc.  Since the prices are really affordable I decided to purchase their starter kit with 24 colors.  I’m happy to say that I’m very impressed with the turn-around time.  I got my package in less than 2 days.

According to the website, the starter kit includes:

  • 1 long nose pliers
  • 1 round nose pliers
  • 1 cutter pliers
  • 1 cutter
  • 1 30ml Gloze Glaze
  • 1 Beads bottle
  • 1 Plucker
  • 1 Bondo B-6000
  • 1 Clay tool set
  • 2 Alligator pins
  • 2 French clips
  • 20 Earing studs and pins
  • 15 Lanyards
  • 20 Earring hooks
  • 2 Rings
  • 2 Keychain ring clasp
  • 20 screw eyes
  • 40 Pins
  • 40 Eye Pins

Add to that is the pack of silicon rubber pens I ordered separately.  Here’s the unboxing video I made.

 

What I like:

Fast delivery — I received the package in less than 2 days.  The contact numbers they have are legit.  The website is easy to use, and they offer various payment methods for your own convenience.  I like the items that came with the kit — I wasn’t expecting for 2 molds to be included, and one of them is even a teddy bear design!  I wasn’t also expecting some paint brushes to be included, which is okay for me since I can use those brushes for my other art projects.  There are a lot of items that can used to create jewelry and other accessories.

What I don’t like:

The actual contents of the kit do not match what is advertised on the website.  The Bondo B-6000 is not included which is a bummer, but in its place are 2 molds and the pack of paint brushes.  The molds are handmade which I like, but it isn’t made out of silicon so it’s not very bendy.  It looks like it was made out of the Sculpey Mold-Maker which, in essence, is still clay.  When the description stated that it came with a cutter, I was really hoping it would be an X-Acto knife or one of those small blades used to cut clay and sewing threads.   I wish there were more ball chains and lobster clasps included in the kit.

The polymer clay itself is a Chinese brand.  It’s rock-hard when you take it out of the plastic wrapper but after some conditioning, it becomes really soft and sticky.  I know this is a problem with other polymer clay brands like the Fimo Soft, but since I haven’t worked with any brand other than Premo by Sculpey, I’m not sure if this level of softness and stickiness is normal.  I’ve tried using cornstarch and pressing it down to get rid of the excess oils but it still literally sticks to my fingers and stretches out like pizza dough.  If you like this kind of elasticity then that might be a good thing.

Verdict?  I love the trinkets and the tools.  Although the clay did not match my expectations, I still think this is a good kit to kick-start a polymer clay career.

Claymate Creations PH Links:
Website – http://claymateph.com/
24 Colors starter kit – http://claymateph.com/product/24-colo…
Facebook page – https://www.facebook.com/claymatesand…
Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/clay.mate/

EDIT [121316]: Please be advised that Claymate PH is no longer active.

Until next time, matta ne~

